Skip to content

Posts from the ‘Upcoming Events’ Category

Ghost Stories with Phil Rickman and Andrew Taylor

Tuesday 21st March at 7pm, Shire Hall, Monmouth – Ticket £5

Join Phil and Andrew for an evening of ghostly stories. Andrew will talk about and read from his spine-tingling gothic novellas – stories of fear, retribution and death. And Phil will talk about the fifteenth Merrily Watkins novel, All of a Winter’s Night – a novel of sinister hidden history, old feuds and fraught times.

Dinah Jefferies and Julia Gregson in Conversation

*change of date* this event will now be held on Wednesday 24th May at 7pm, Rossiter Books, Ross-on-Wye –scroll down for details

Claire Fuller and Antonia Honeywell in Conversation

Thursday 30th March at 7pm, Rossiter Books, Ross-on-Wye – Ticket £3

Bestselling novelists Claire Fuller and Antonia Honeywell will talk about their novels, shared themes and what makes a bestseller. Claire’s debut novel, Our Endless Numbered Days, won the Desmond Elliot Prize in 2015. Her second novel, Swimming Lessons is newly published. Antonia Honeywell is the author of the bestselling The Ship. Read more

A Boy Made of Blocks by Keith Stuart

Thursday 20th April at 7pm, Rossiter Books, Ross-on-Wye – Ticket £3

Fast becoming the first book ‘everyone is talking about’ this year, A Boy Made of Blocks is a tear-jerking, hilarious and most of all true-to-life novel about the power of difference and one very special little boy. The book is described as perfect for fans of The Rosie Project, David Nicholls’ Us and Nick Hornby’s About a Boy. Read more

Tom Bullough and Cynan Jones

Thursday 27th April at 7pm, Rossiter Books, Ross-on-Wye – Ticket £3

Two unique Welsh voices, Tom Bullough and Cynan Jones, come together to read from and discuss the latest books. 
Read more

Dinah Jefferies and Julia Gregson in Conversation

Wednesday 24th May at 7pm, Rossiter Books, Ross-on-Wye – Ticket £3

Dinah Jefferies will be talking about and signing copies of her new novel Before the Rains. She will be in conversation with Julia Gregson, whose latest book is Monsoon Summer. Read more

Bee Quest by Dave Goulson

Tuesday 30th May at 7pm, Rossiter Books, Ross-on-Wye – Ticket £3

The much-loved, Sunday Times bestselling author Dave Goulson returns to Ross to with his new book which continues his quest to change the way we think about bees…Bee Quest is an utterly charming book that will inspire you to think about the ways in which we are all responsible for the future of our world. Through his scientific expertise and passion for conservation, Goulson shows us nature’s resilience against the odds, and that beauty hides in the most surprising places. Read more

Anne Boleyn by Alison Weir

Thursday 1st June at 7pm, Shire Hall, Monmouth – Ticket £5

Alison Weir recounts one of the most sensational episodes in English history, revealing a courageous, determined woman on a headlong course to tragedy. Be prepared for your perceptions to be challenged.    Read more

Mark Billingham and Mark Hill

Friday 9th June at 7pm, Shire Hall, Monmouth – Ticket £5

Mark Billingham and Mark Hill will talk about their thrillers. (Please note this is a change to the original plan as Christopher Brookmyre is no longer able to attend) Read more

Linescapes by Hugh Warwick

Tuesday 13th June at 7pm, Rossiter Books, Ross-on-Wye – Ticket £3

Linescapes – Remapping and Reconnecting Britain’s Fragmented Wildlife

It is rare to find a landscape untouched by our lines – the hedges, walls, ditches and dykes built to enclose and separate; and the green lanes, roads, canals, railways and power lines, designed to connect. This vast network of lines has transformed our landscape. In Linescapes, Hugh Warwick unravels the far-reaching ecological consequences of the lines we have drawn: as our lives and our land were being fenced in and threaded together, so wildlife habitats have been cut into ever smaller, and increasingly unviable, fragments.

Read more

Interstate by Julian Sayarer

Tuesday 22nd August at 7pm, Rossiter Books, Ross-on-Wye – Ticket £3

Round the world cyclist Julian Sayarer returns to Ross to talk about his latest book, the Stanford Dolman Travel Book of the Year 2016, Interstate – Hitch Hiking Through the State of a Nation.
Recruited to work on a documentary project, Julian went to New York convinced he had hit big time at last. Finding the project cancelled, he wandered the city streets and, with nowhere else to go, decided to set out hitchhiking for San Francisco. Read more