Skip to content

Posts from the ‘Upcoming Events’ Category

City of Friends by Joanna Trollope

Tuesday 28th February at 7pm, Shire Hall, Monmouth – Ticket £5

We are delighted to welcome back bestselling author Joanna Trollope who will talk about her 20th novel, City of Friends.

A snapshot in the lives of four girls who met at university and remain friends as their careers in the City develop… Read more

The Doll Funeral by Kate Hamer

Wednesday 8th March at 7pm, Rossiter Books, Ross-on-Wye – Ticket £3

Kate Hamer, author of the fantastic debut novel, The Girl in the Red Coat, returns to our Ross shop, this time to talk about her second novel, The Doll Funeral.

The Doll Funeral: My name is Ruby. I live with Barbara and Mick. They’re not my real parents, but they tell me what to do, and what to say. I’m supposed to say that the bruises on my arms and the black eye came from falling down the stairs. Read more

Ghost Stories with Phil Rickman and Andrew Taylor

Tuesday 21st March at 7pm, Shire Hall, Monmouth – Ticket £5

Join Phil and Andrew for an evening of ghostly stories. Andrew will talk about and read from his spine-tingling gothic novellas – stories of fear, retribution and death. And Phil will talk about the fifteenth Merrily Watkins novel, All of a Winter’s Night – a novel of sinister hidden history, old feuds and fraught times.

Dinah Jefferies and Julia Gregson in Conversation

Tuesday 28th March at 7pm, Rossiter Books, Ross-on-Wye – Ticket £3

Dinah Jefferies will be talking about and signing copies of her new novel Before the Rains. She will be in conversation with Julia Gregson, whose latest book is Monsoon Summer. Read more

Claire Fuller and Antonia Honeywell in Conversation

Thursday 30th March at 7pm, Rossiter Books, Ross-on-Wye – Ticket £3

Bestselling novelists Claire Fuller and Antonia Honeywell will talk about their novels, shared themes and what makes a bestseller. Claire’s debut novel, Our Endless Numbered Days, won the Desmond Elliot Prize in 2015. Her second novel, Swimming Lessons is newly published. Antonia Honeywell is the author of the bestselling The Ship. Read more

A Boy Made of Blocks by Keith Stuart

Thursday 20th April at 7pm, Rossiter Books, Ross-on-Wye – Ticket £3

Fast becoming the first book ‘everyone is talking about’ this year, A Boy Made of Blocks is a tear-jerking, hilarious and most of all true-to-life novel about the power of difference and one very special little boy. The book is described as perfect for fans of The Rosie Project, David Nicholls’ Us and Nick Hornby’s About a Boy. Read more

Tom Bullough and Cynan Jones

Thursday 27th April at 7pm, Rossiter Books, Ross-on-Wye – Ticket £3

Two unique Welsh voices, Tom Bullough and Cynan Jones, come together to read from and discuss the latest books. 
Read more

Anne Boleyn by Alison Weir

Thursday 1st June at 7pm, Shire Hall, Monmouth – Ticket £5

Alison Weir recounts one of the most sensational episodes in English history, revealing a courageous, determined woman on a headlong course to tragedy. Be prepared for your perceptions to be challenged.    Read more

Mark Billingham and Chris Brookmyre

Friday 9th June at 7pm, Shire Hall, Monmouth – Ticket £5

Mark Billingham and Chris Brookmyre will talk about their latest thrillers. Read more